top of page

The "Quest" for the Best Pancake

Who doesn't LOVE pancakes?! Ok, I'm sure there are plenty of people out there that don’t like them, but maybe that’s because they just haven’t found the best recipe for them (or they’re just boring people!). I love pancakes, especially PROTEIN pancakes. I recently found Quest Nutrition protein powder and right on the label it says that it’s great to use for cooking. I’ve always been a bit nervous about using my protein for cooking and baking for the fear that it could damage the protein and be less effective (which is NOT TRUE, read this: http://proteinpow.com/denaturing) or it just not mixing well into the recipes. An even bigger concern has always been finding a protein that tastes good and isn’t going to add unnecessary calories to my recipes. Quest Nutrition protein powder definitely allows me to rest easier knowing I have a good product (check out the nutrition facts, 1 scoop= 22g Protein, 0g Fat, 3g carbs, and 100 calories!)

Now that I’ve found a good protein to use, I’m searching for the best recipe for protein pancakes. I want to try as many variations as possible. From naturally gluten-free (meaning I will use fruit and nut butters as the flour, not gluten-free flour) and paleo, to white and whole wheat flour kinds.

Last week, I tried a peanut butter banana protein pancake recipe. It was naturally gluten-free and really delicious! BUT not the BEST I’ve ever had.

I give them 3 out of 5 satrs. great macros, not great taste/texture!

Banana-PB2 Protein Pancakes

Ingredients:

1/3 cup rolled oats (processed into flour)

1/2 scoop Quest Protein Powder

2 tbsp PB2 powdered peanut butter

1/4 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp cinnamon

1/3 cup mashed bananas

1 egg white

1 tbsp unsweetened vanilla almond milk

Mix together and pour onto a hot griddle (I used coconut oil because it adds a yummy taste!) in 4 equal circles!

Topping:

2Tbsp greek 0%Fat yogurt

2 tbsp Cary’s Sugar-Free Syrup

1tbsp PB2

1 tbsp unsweetened vanilla almond milk

Mix together and pour over finished pancakes!

1 Serving=4 Pancakes and topping, 313 Calories, 5g Fat, 45g Carbs, 30g Protein

Check out my instagram account @swolesisterfit for the video (pouring the topping!)


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page