top of page

Scales and Snacks

For once I'm NOT talking about the food scale! The #1 complaint I get from my clients is "The scale isn't changing!" or "I gained a pound back this week!" and it is by far the most frustrating problem to deal with....It's even harder because sometimes I am in that same boat. I can preach all day (and I will preach some more in a few seconds!) but I get it, we are all focused on what that scale says. It matters to me because I would like to be lighter and better at bodyweight movements, but I have to remind myself that flexible dieting is a process and it is NOT a quick fix! The weightloss in FD is paced out so you won't compromise strength. Honestly, I would rather make bigger lifts than weigh less. The thing is, though you may not see a change on the scale, you WILL see a change in your appearance, and in how your clothes fit, and if you really want to put a number to it, measure your body fat %!

You look leaner, you're lifting more weight, have more energy, BUT the scale isn't budgeing.... who cares?! Be proud of your accomplishments and put it all into perspective!

I reassure many of my clients on a regular basis. I strongly suggest to all of them to take measurements and not just depend on the scale!

So, another complaint that I get is "How can I eat all of that protein?!!"

Thats usually what people are most surprised to see...how much protein they need compared to what they had been eating! I can't say this enough, if you do not eat your protein, you CAN NOT build or even maintain muscle.

So what are my favorite ways to hit my protein macros?

Breakfast:

  • Egg whites mixed with 1 full egg (less fat!)

  • Bacon

  • Turkey Sausage

  • Apple with NUTZEZ protein almond butter

  • Overnight oats mixed with 0%fat greek yogurt and protein powder

Lunch

  • 6oz Shredded chicken mixed with 1/2 cup plain greek yogurt and hot sauce (tastes like chicken wing dip!)

  • Low-fat Ground Turkey mixed with salsa

  • Aidell's Chicken Meatballs (so gooood)

Dinner

Lean meat, veggies, what ever is left!!! Dinner is usually where you get to fill up on whatever protein and carb macros you have left. (Unless you save some for dessert! Just make sure you get those micronutrients!)

Snacks

  • EC Protein Kitchen Protein Cookie Dough

  • Cottage Cheese

  • 0% fat Greek Yogurt mixed with Protein Powder

  • Deli meat

  • Beef jerky

What high protein snacks do you love? Share them please!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page