top of page

Macros and Measurements!


If you don't know by now, I am quite fond of "Flexible Dieting". Many people have asked me about it, about my success and how they can get started. I offer individual calculations and coaching sessions as well as seminars for more in-depth explanations, but today I'll just hit the basics! After this weekend, I'll have more to say about my seminars, as well as a "What I Buy" post, and next week I'm going to write tips on how to Flexible Diet on a "cut" while your significant other/roommate is "gaining" (let me tell you, it's NOT EASY!)

Flexible Dieting or tracking you macros is often called IIFYM (If it fits your macros) BUT it's slightly different. Both calculate macros based on your body and activity, but flexible dieting really emphasizes eating a nutrient rich diet while still enjoying "nutrient-lacking" foods as well while IIFYM boasts getting lean and jacked eating whatever you want as long as you hit your macros. IIFYM is not wrong, BUT as a CrossFitter (same goes for any athlete focused on performance first asthetics second) I am more concernd about how the foods I eat allow me to perform.

Whats a Macro?

A macro is short for macronutrient, which are nutrients the body requires in large amounts to transfer energy as well as many other functions (growth, repair, cell function, etc). Macros are proteins, fats, and carbohydrates; each nutrient has its own main function and is needed in a different amount based on your body, activity level, and goals. Once you calculate your macros (or have someone else, like me do it!) your goal each day is to eat foods within the limits of those numbers by measuring or weighing and tracking it all. MyFitnessPal is by far the best way to track, but if you like math, go ahead and use a pen and notebook for all I care! It sounds complicated, and at first it can be tricky, but once you get the hang of it, it becomes easier. Planning ahead helps, every night I try to plan as much of my next day as I can, which is simple becasue I prepare my breakfast and lunch the night before anyway, so I just log it. Then the next day if I want to have an extra snack, I can enter it into MFP and by the end of the day I can see what macros I have left and create a meal to hit those numbers.

The science is, your body doesn't care where it gets the protein, fats, and carbs from, it only cares that it gets enough. So an apple with peanut butter and a glazed donut have similar macro breakdowns. With flexible dieting you don't have to deprive yourself, you can fit a donut in without feeling guilty, just as long as you arent only choosing the donuts all of the time! Learn to see food in terms of macros instead of "good" and "bad" or "healthy" and "not healthy".

It takes time and the fat loss/muscle gain process is slow, but thats the point. Following this program you can lose fat and build muscle in a smart and calculated way, rather than cutting calories to lose weight and running the risk of breaking down muslce or eating whatever you want to build "gains" and then storing too much excess fat.

Why do I think this is better than the paleo diet?

When I first started CrossFit, like most people, I went strict paleo. I lost about 15lbs, but wasn't making large gains in my lifts. I also felt deprived and wanted my white potatoes and simple carbs back! I think paleo is great, eat quality, nutrient dense food! BUT the problem peple face is over consuming, specifically in the fats and fibrous veggies. Paleo dieters have no restrictions on the amounts of nuts an avacados and "healthy fats" they eat and while they might lose weight its mostly becasue they are consuming so few carbs and not actually building lean muslce (this is referrred to as "puffy paleo") . Fibrous veggies are great, but not when you're training hard and burning up energy stores. Its takes a lot of energy to break down fibrous vegetables and leave athletes feeling tired during training days. Simple carbs are not evil! They are a great way to feed your body and muscles post workout! You can eat paleo-ish and be a flexible dieter, it might be hard to hit your carbs, but you can find alternatives, its all about hitting those numbers and giving your body what it needs to fuel your activities!

Interested in tracking your macros and trying flexible dieting? Let me know! Already tracking your macros? What tips do you have for people just starting out?


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page